stings and Scott Boland will likely be | Forum

Position des Themas: Forum-Startseite » User Foren » Allgemeine Fragen
Mitglied
love520 Mai 4 '18
Dwaine Pretorius cricketing career was just beginning when it almost ended. Ted Ginn Jr Jersey . It was 2008, he was 18 years old and had been named in South Africas Under-19 World Cup squad, but he never got to the event. On the first of January that year, Pretorius tore the cartilage in his right knee and decided to study instead of play sport, at least for a while.I realised that sport is unpredictable and it would be a good idea to get my career sorted so that I would have something if cricket didnt work out, Pretorius, who has been named in South Africas squad for the one-off ODI against Ireland, told ESPNcricinfo. But my dad said that after I got my degree, he would financially support for a year or two to see if I could make it as a cricketer.Pretorius enrolled in an Accounting degree course at the University of Pretoria and for three years concentrated on his academics. He played for the student team but never ventured into anything more serious until he graduated. Even then, he contemplated furthering his education to become a chartered accountant (CA) before remembering the deal he had made with his father. We went on a family holiday and I said to my dad that when I am lying on my deathbed, Im not going to think that I should have tried to become a CA but I might think that I should have tried to become a cricketer.To pursue that ambition, Pretorius returned to his home province, North West, even though the teams coach, Monty Jacobs, warned him that there was little chance of breaking into the team. Monty said to me the squad was pretty settled and it would be tough to get a game but that I should come through and we could see, Pretorius said.The seeing, meant exactly that. For months, Pretorius trained and watched his team-mates play but did not take the field himself. It was very frustrating, he said. I felt l